March 6, 2019 | 1 Minute Read
Owens-Ruff Joins Memorial Health Board

Memorial Health today announced the appointment of a new board member, Tina Owens-Ruff of Marysville. Appointed by the Union County Commissioners, Owens-Ruff will serve a six-year term for the seat formerly held by Thomas Ranney and will take an active role on the eight-member volunteer Board of Trustees who govern the path of Memorial Health.

Since 2007, Owens-Ruff has been a Partner in the Allen, Yurasek, Merklin & Owens-Ruff law firm in Marysville, with her areas of practice focusing on real estate, small business, probate, and estate planning. She has certifications in Adult Guardianship, Guardian Ad Litem, and Mediation & Uniform Mediation Act Training.

Owens-Ruff received her Juris Doctor (JD) of Law from Ohio Northern University, Pettit College of Law in Ada, Ohio. She also received her Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Philosophy from The Ohio State University in Columbus.

Recognizing that attorneys are called to be of service to the community, Owens-Ruff serves both her professional and local communities in several capacities. Since 2013, she has participated in the Lawyer-to-Lawyer Mentoring Program, she is currently an Ohio State Bar Foundation Fellow, and as of January 2019, she sits on the Union County Law Library Resources Board. Locally, Owens-Ruff manages the Fairbanks Soccer Boosters Association as President and has previously fulfilled her role as a board member for the Union County Family YMCA, as well as Union County Elite FC.

In preparation for joining the board, Owens-Ruff commented, “Throughout my time in this community, I have found Memorial Health to be an intricate part of the area’s growth and development. When asked to accept this appointment, I instantly said yes, since one of my family’s goals is to give back by volunteering our time and skills. I consider it a privilege to become a part of an organization that continues to exemplify the aspirations of our community.”

Additional changes to the Board of Trustees include the appointment of Gary McDowell to Chairperson and Dennis Stone to Vice-Chairperson. Nikki Conklin was recognized for her tenure as Chairperson and Thomas Ranney was honored and acknowledged for the completion of his board term.

Owens-Ruff will join the current board members including McDowell, Stone, Conklin, Secretary Neal Handler, Chad Hoffman, Doug Loudenslager, and Emily Wieringa.